Earth Month Heroes
  • Home
  • Earth Month Heroes

Earth Month Heroes

Honoring teachers in your community who inspire students about the environment

Throughout the month of April, the Wyland Foundation and its environmental education partners Toyota along with CBS/KCAL, will recognize the great teachers in Los Angeles County, CA and Orange County, CA who believe each student can make a difference- and are finding new, innovative ways to share their insights, wisdom and experience for a sustainable, healthy planet. We welcome you to nominate teachers (K-12) who you feel are committed to environmental education.

We will be recognizing one hero each week during Earth Month (April), with one grand prize winner. As a special thank you we will be making a $250 donation on behalf of each Earth Month Hero, and the grand prize winner will receive $500 to a local environmental charity of their choice.  Last year’s Earth Month Hero Grand Prize Winner was profiled live in studio on KCAL 9. 

2014 Earth Month Heroes

  • Ana Gutierrez
  • Carmelita Arellano
  • Pamela Conti
  • Wendy Hagan
  • Shelley Kelley

2013 Earth Month Heroes

  • Liz Crosson
  • Jeff Duclos
  • Captain Charles Moore
  • Leila Volkmann

2012 Earth Month Heroes

  • Erica Aguilera
  • Mahuya Barua
  • Sara Bayles
  • Kathy Carillo
  • Nancy Caruso
  • Anna Cummins & Marcus Eriksen
  • Anita Dunham
  • Reginald Durant
  • Environmental Nature Center
  • Claudio Garzon
  • Mark Gold
  • Patricio Guerrero
  • Kajsa James
  • Jeanne Kumagai & Students
  • James Lieber
  • Kurt Lieber
  • Cynthia Liles
  • Jennifer Miller Garmendia
  • Jim Moriarty
  • Jennifer Naegele & Matt Yurko
  • Dency Nelson
  • April Parise & Elizabeth Zernik
  • Matthew Peterson
  • Kary Rappaport
  • Michelle Spieker
  • Lorie Suntree
  • Robina Suwol
  • Beth Tomlinson
  • Mati Waiya
  • Anne Younglove

2011 Earth Month Heroes

  • Jeff Cornelius
  • Dolores Dang-Wright
  • Fran Delaney Barron
  • Ginger Demers
  • Sophia Derrig
  • Greg Gardiner
  • Michael Gower
  • Jennifer Horton
  • Jason Huffman
  • John Karns
  • Benjamin Kay
  • Carol Kemp
  • Lisa Kerr
  • Bill Kulencavich
  • Jaime Kunze
  • Candace Leuthold
  • Dana Martens
  • Matthew Morrissey
  • Susan Norton
  • Vivian Okoro
  • Mimi Philips
  • Sue Puccinelli
  • Judy Riemenschneider
  • Jill Rivero
  • Peggy Simpson
  • Mary Simun
  • Ramona Talampas
  • John Teutimez III
  • Mike Trimmell
  • E'lyssa Zuer

Nominate your hero

Deadline for nominations is March 24th

First Name
Last Name
Organization (optional)
First Name
Last Name
Organization (optional)
Why is he/she an Earth Month Hero? (limit 500 words)

My life and professional goal is to expedite the creation of a sustainable planet through education.

Benjamin Kay, 2011 Grand Prize Winner

If we use science and common sense in our day-to-day lives, we can keep the planet healthy.

Dency Nelson, 2012 Grand Prize Winner